Posted by: Kaushik Chauhan | September 30, 2009

Disposable Coding!

The other day when I was travelling, I saw a plastic (disposable) cup of tea thrown carelessly on road and the term “Disposable Coding” strike in to my mind. Just like the person who has thrown that cup, do we really care for what we have written? Or will be able really able to use that in future?

Being in Information technology industry for more than 10 years, I can say that I know what the value of reusable code is. No organization just can afford to have the luxury of what we call disposable coding! Object oriented programming is not a new concept anymore, then too how many organizations would you find having a true reusable code repository where you can say that a single line of code written is not disposable? We know based on the requirement, it may be possible that  depending on the needs, a coder may get tempted to write a few lines of code which we typically know as “fix” to achieve the goal on temporary basis, but who will calculate the cost of the same over the long run?

It’s not just the coding which we cannot afford to be disposable, I would rather say as a human being we should strive to achieve the same at almost all strata of our life. Disposable is a Capitalist word by nature and I don’t want to sound conservative by propagating the re-usability of code (or any other efforts of human being), but don’t you think we can make better progress or achieve more by putting those extra efforts which we save by practicing reusability? Or simply put, avoiding disposable efforts.

There can be much more to this topic than this, and my sole motive is to start a discussion where I would like to get ideas of all of you who are interested in this and spare time to read up to this line. Try to provide your inputs on the same. May be this could be a beginning of new learning for all of us.

Definitely the topic is not new, there has been number of books written and content published on the same line, still I would like to start one more discussion on this! 

The Beginning.

Responses

  1. I think this idea is good. We should do care of re-usable code. Disposable code is which we cannot afford to have in an industry !

  2. Da dats gud …1 ..inspird me a lot as i was jus sarching for,hw to start my blog….

  3. Hey Reeni..thanks a lot, its very simple, visit http://www.wordpress.com and signup for a blog, its easy, free and very simple. Try it out and let me know in case you need any help from my end to get started. Happy Blogging. 🙂

  4. There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

  5. Thanks a lot buddy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

